La Photographie: Stylista

So, here’s a third set of photos by dear, Eman. These are very different from the first set of La Photographie photos I’ve posted, perhaps because those were taken during the day while these were taken at night.

I’d have to admit, I’ve come to enjoy posing for Eman. What, with the images that he comes up with? Who wouldn’t, right? The first time I saw these photos, I was very impressed. I like working with him, and CJ. Eman’s calm and let’s me be myself. The only pressure I felt during the sessions were from myself as I really don’t know how to pose. I’m not at all comfortable being photographed. But Eman managed to capture a good angle of me, which is a wonderful surprise.

And basically, I rely on CJ to tell me what to do. Often times, I really feel awkward. And if he’s not there to tell me how to pose, I’m at a loss. And besides, my face is given to exaggeration that people often get the wrong impression about what I’m feeling or thinking- e.g. When I’m really tired that I could barely manage a smile, I try to relax my face, but to others it may seem that I’m angry or glowering. Case in point: At dinner some weeks ago, MissL and I were the only ones left at the table. We’ve been talking when suddenly, there was a pause, I thought about relaxing my face a bit and tried to void my face with any expression, at least I thought I hardly noticed MissL was staring at me when I heard her ask:, Mum, why are you always angry? I was surprised because I’m not always angry and that evening, I was feeling particularly fine. See, I have little control over my facial expression, which gets me into trouble sometimes, if not most times.

Overall, I’m grateful to CJ and Eman for being a source of encouragement. They’ve made me feel good about myself one way or another, no matter how short a time or few.

On the other hand, I am more comfortable behind the camera, taking the photos. I’ve always been fascinated with how moments are captured in pictures. I’m quite sentimental about many things, if you might have noticed by now. So, yeah, at a young age I’ve already been kind of  obsessed with taking photos. Family members have been somewhat irked by my compulsion to take photos almost everyday. I let them say whatever they want to say so long as I get to take my pictures. But, their criticism do get to me and I get distracted and my resolve to take pictures wanes. At times, I’ve had to repress the urge to take pictures. But that’s how things are and I’ve learned to just roll with life’s highs and lows. As the Rolling Stones song goes, “You can’t always get what you want. But if you try sometimes you find, you get what you need…”

Such is life… Jette

Gallery

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: La Photographie: Free Spirit | a rogue planet

Leave a Reply

