Intermission: Condit vs Hendricks (UFC 158)

OK, this absolutely is not a fashion related post. It’s just that, sometimes, I get to watch MMA as The Mister is into the sport. He introduced me to the sport some 8 years ago. And frankly, I do like to watch some matches too, whether it’s in the cage or ring(Pride/K-1). Though, I wouldn’t really stay at home, nor rearrange my schedule just to watch matches live on TV, as The Mister does. And, if I were to name my favorite fighters, off the top of my head, there’s Wanderlei Silva, Mauricio “Shogun” Rua, Fedor Emelianenko, Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic, Demian Maya, Shinya Aoki, Takanori Gomi, Yoshihiro Akiyama, and Alistair Overeem.

Last night, The Mister was watching a replay of last Sunday’s UFC match. The Co-main event was Carlos Condit vs. Johny Hendricks and the match was absolutely exciting to watch. Both athletes were great fighters and there was no boring moment. It was blow by blow amazing! In the end, Hendricks was the victor, by decision (29-28). The Mister backs the decision saying that simply with Hendricks’ takedowns (a total of 12 for 3 rounds, I think?), he was the sure winner. Now, I’m no expert in this sport, but I’d say the match could have been a draw.

Yes, Hendricks had numerous takedowns, but I think even with his back on the ground, Condit’s defense was impressive. He was also throwing shots from the bottom and often was able to scramble back up quite quickly. And, he has quite a strong chin to boot!

Not to disregard Hendricks great skills and power, he was throwing solid and powerful punches, his posture, solid and perfect, and his submission skills are exceptional. Overall, both Condit and Hendricks are well-rounded and great fighters and I’m fairly disappointed that the decision wasn’t a draw. Well, then again, I don’t really know much about how the institution works. 🙂

The match was absolutely amazing that I can’t help but talk about it here. I am in awe and I’d love to watch another match between them.

Anyway, if you’re interested, read more about the match here and here. Better yet, watch thisSo yeah, I’m not really all girly. Fact: I don’t even have a beauty regime nor do I consider putting on make up a must. It’s usually the last thing on my mind. Admittedly, I admire women who know how to put on impeccable make-up. But I absolutely love clothes, and shoes!

Such is life… Jette

Aside

Leave a Reply

The Costume Blog

Ciara Nolan, Irish cailín and costume student surviving in Scotland.

JAMIE SEES

a blog by Jamie Chua

The Ilocana Bride

An open diary of a 'kuripot' spender

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Styledbysteph96

ootds, fashion advice, looks for less and more! Find me on instagram and pinterest: @styledbysteph96

Cecil James

Just two girls who are hopelessly addicted to travel, fashion and health foods.

fashionsvictims

Fashion under your fingires

Periwinkle Wellness

Join health-conscious entrepreneurs working towards both environmental sustainability and financial freedom.

a rogue planet

Life.Love.Fashion

