Style File: Iris

… I’d have to say is the color that pops out the most in this outfit, thus the title. These photos were taken two weeks ago, by the way.

DIY: printed skirt

Some months ago, I stumbled upon an old Giordano linen skirt while clearing a part of my closet. At that time, graphic/ethnic print skirts were on trend and I decided to make one for myself. So, with fabric pens and what paints were left from making the floral tunic, I just painted and drew figures on the fabric. I wasn’t so inspired that day, so I don’t think the prints are that interesting. I’m contemplating on editing the prints. Perhaps.

Sidetrack: The song Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls is one of my favorites, ever! Love, love, love the Goo Goo Dolls!

“And I’d give up forever to touch you/’Cause I know that you feel me somehow/You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be/And I don’t want to go home right now. And all I can taste is this moment/ And all I can breathe is your life/ And sooner or later it’s over/ I just don’t wanna miss you tonight. And I don’t want the world to see me/ ‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand/ When everything’s meant to be broken/ I just want you to know who I am. And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming/ Or the moment of truth in your lies/ When everything feels like the movies/ Yeah you bleed just to know you’re alive.” -IRIS- [Goo Goo Dolls]

It’s also the soundtrack of one of my all time favorite movies, City of Angels(1998).city-of-angels

Anyhoo, here’s a summary of how I made the skirt:

C360_2015-05-16-09-25-30-573

1. Cut the skirt to your preferred length. You can actually put the skirt on and using a pencil or cloth chalk, mark the would be hem. When you cut off the excess, make sure there’s about 1-1.5 inches for hemming.

2. Draw designs on the skirt. For this, I made a stencil out of cardboard just to make sure the design is somewhat consistent. Once the stencil was ready, I colored fabric markers to transfer the design.

3. Paint some more designs. For variety, I painted designs on the skirt as well, using fabric paint, of course.

4. Hem the skirt. After the paint dried, I hemmed the skirt and that’s it! Very simple to make. But it would help perhaps if you already have a design prepared before jumping into this DIY. Unfortunately for me, the tinker bug just bit me one Sunday and just used whatever I had in my stash to make the skirt.

How’s your weekend? Mine’s so-so, thus this post. Missing my little rascals. *sigh*

such is life… Jette

Leave a Reply

The Costume Blog

Ciara Nolan, Irish cailín and costume student surviving in Scotland.

JAMIE SEES

a blog by Jamie Chua

The Ilocana Bride

An open diary of a 'kuripot' spender

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Styledbysteph96

ootds, fashion advice, looks for less and more! Find me on instagram and pinterest: @styledbysteph96

Cecil James

Just two girls who are hopelessly addicted to travel, fashion and health foods.

fashionsvictims

Fashion under your fingires

Periwinkle Wellness

Join health-conscious entrepreneurs working towards both environmental sustainability and financial freedom.

a rogue planet

Life.Love.Fashion

