throwback: alta costura…

… is an annual costume competition at my former college. It’s a culminating event which takes place every March. It was the brain-child of one of our professors and also a well-known designer in my home city, Mr. Bambu Tonogbanua. Here we are partying at his home.

jetteau-alta-costura-2003-0

Uhm, he’s that white-haired guy to my right, obscured by The Mister’s shoe. Sorry. Will try find a better picture of him… For now, moving on…

In 2003, the year in which I joined, the Alta Costura was held in Iloilo City. Now, I’m no stranger to this city because I spent the later part of my primary education here. And besides, during the competition, my dad had been confined in a hospital in said city.

I forgot which category I joined exactly, as there were several. Anyway…

jetteau-alta-costura-2003-2

I’d been lucky that Mayette, was there to do my model’s make up.

C360_2015-03-05-14-18-04-657

Here’s the gown I designed, modeled by April.

C360_2014-11-01-12-56-27-788

The theme I believe I was going for was air and earth, and had been inspired by Sarah Brightman’s album La Luna…

jetteau-alta-costura-2003-5

Here’s me making final touches on the gown…

C360_2014-11-01-12-59-19-943

The look of tired… April’s off to the stage, leaving me partly relieved. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find the full-length photo of April on stage. The hem part of the gown was actually covered in feathers.

C360_2015-03-05-14-16-35-208

Will update this post in case I do find the picture.

Well, I didn’t win…but Rolan did… haha!

C360_2014-11-01-12-54-48-608

Here’s us getting ready to leave for Bacolod the next day.

And just in case you’ve been wondering where I got the accesories, they where made by Botsky, known as Embit to most… He’s this guy…

jetteau-alta-costura-2003-3

He used copperwires for the accessories and some beads and semi-precious stones given to me by Kent, who also took pictures at the event. He’s the one who’s necklace I’m grabbing.

jetteau-alta-costura -2003-4

Joyce, the girl to my right wearing white is a good friend who helped me find a dressmaker for the gown and my beautiful model, April.

The above two photos, btw, were taken during the Panaad in 2003, I think. The Panaad is a city event here in Bacolod which happens every April.

Well, I’m signing off for today… Thank you for taking the time to read… Have a great day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: photo bucket: the beach | a rogue planet
  2. Trackback: Makeup Works | a rogue planet

Leave a Reply

