Recycle, Reuse: floral dress into skirt

I enjoy reconstructing items in my closet to give them new life, and of course to give myself a new wardrobe to rock. For this post, it’s this dress:

floral marilyn monroe inspired dress

I had it custom-made to wear to our friends’ wedding a few years back. daryll-odessa-wedding-cebu daryll-odessa-wedding-reception-cebu daryll-odessa-wedding-2012

But then after, I only got to wear the dress just once more and that was for our family portrait.div-gon-family-portrait

So, I recently decided to restyle the dress into a skirt. And a few snips and cuts, the dress is now a skirt…! I removed the bodice and shortened them hem.

20140926_121752

I’ll be posting an OOTD for this skirt when I get the chance to wear it.

How about you? Do you have a recycle-restyle story to share?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jan
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 23:12:49

    i’m thinking of shortening a bridesmaid dress i had made too but i haven’t really decided yet coz it’s not the kind of material that you can wear casually. i don’t know. we’ll see.

    i’m excited to see what you’re gonna do to revamp that dress.

    Reply

    • jettedivine
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 23:39:37

      I just settled with a skirt.
      And I’d love to hear what you finally decide to do with that bridesmaid dress of yours. I think short skirts/dresses can easily be dressed down by pairing them with casual tops or outerwear and flat shoes or sandals.
      Thanks!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Style File: of mint, cream, and flowers | a rogue planet

Leave a Reply

The Costume Blog

Ciara Nolan, Irish cailín and costume student surviving in Scotland.

JAMIE SEES

a blog by Jamie Chua

The Ilocana Bride

An open diary of a 'kuripot' spender

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Styledbysteph96

ootds, fashion advice, looks for less and more! Find me on instagram and pinterest: @styledbysteph96

Cecil James

Just two girls who are hopelessly addicted to travel, fashion and health foods.

fashionsvictims

Fashion under your fingires

Periwinkle Wellness

Join health-conscious entrepreneurs working towards both environmental sustainability and financial freedom.

a rogue planet

Life.Love.Fashion

