DIY: Sabrina Neckline Straight Cut Dress

So, the recycle reuse sandals are a no go yet. I got sidetracked by another dress project which is thoroughly described by the title.

This came about when I finally found this neat sublimation company that prints your own design either on a jersey shirt or on plain fabric. Awesooome! I’ve made graphic designs perfect for this and just had to try it out. So, I had one of my designs printed on a jersey shirt which I gave to The Mister and another on a fabric.

14852590595141424147317.jpg

Test Run: The jersey turned out too bright and too pink for The Mister’s taste. Hehe. I should have switched the colors but it was a bit difficult for me to be accurate with the colors while working on the designs and I think it could also depend on the type of fabric.

As, I have mentioned one too many times, I don’t know how to make patterns. So I opted for a straight-dress, and to avoid having to measure armholes and whatnots went for a sabrina neckline. Make sense right?

20170124_201134

What’s with the blue fabric?

The printed fabric does not stretch, unfortunately. And the work around I thought up was to add panels of stretch fabrics on both sides. Added bonus: No need to use zipper or buttons! The strips of blue jersey fabric I added on the side is a fifth short of the length of the printed fabric to make room for armholes.

20170116_204637

Final Touches: Sewing up the top most ends of the fabrics to complete the armholes.

20170123_211639

So there you have it. Literally, a straight dress, or a rectangle dress if you want to call it that. It’s easy peasy to make without needing a machine!

printed-rectangle-dress

I’ll slip this on in a week or two and will Most likely post here.

Now to jump in bed and catch me some Z’s… ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

